Town car engine oil

Joqular086

SUPPORTING MEMBER

YoungOldMan

Got it. The link in my first comment is a digital version of your owners manual from Ford’s service website, so you can save that and get to the manual any time. Your engine should hold 5 quarts total, with 4.8ish in the block/pan (4.6 liters x 1.057 = 4.86 quarts) and another 0.2ish in the filter. If someone did just dump 5 quartz in then it would be over full for a bit since the filter would initially be empty.

As for the Kwik change place, they probably didn’t let the oil drain sufficiently and then topped it off using the book amount without actually checking the levels.

Joqular086

SUPPORTING MEMBER

Joqular086

SUPPORTING MEMBER

YoungOldMan

But after reading my posts, and knowing that I've been doing this since the early 2000s, what could the possible reason be? Someone @the factory used an oil pan from some other production run? My 4 and1/2 brings it right up to the full line. Are there any other strange birds out there? Is puzzlement!
Manufacturing variability could theoretically do it. Or your oil pan could be dented slightly. Or you might not be measuring as exactly as you think. Or some oil could be staying in the pan when you drain it. Or a combination of some or all of those. There’s very little difference between 4.5 and 4.8 quarts (~6%). Bone dry with a new filter you should be able to put in ~4.8 qts, then run the engine for a minute, and then add another .2 qts, so the difference between the theory of what should go in and the reality of what you’re seeing is pretty insignificant. As long as the dip-stick is reading full I don’t think there’s anything to worry about.

Joqular086

SUPPORTING MEMBER

YoungOldMan