Quick question about the engine air bleed screw

Thread starter #1

West

I had to replace the degas bottle on my 2002 Lincoln LS v6. Just installed the new bottle, now I"m going to bleed the system of air. I found the engine air bleed and the heater air bleed.. But I have never done this before. Am I supposed to completely remove these screws? Because the heater air bleed comes all the way out, but the engine air bleed screw seems to just spin in place when I turn it. I wanted to check with you guys as to how the engine air bleed screw is supposed to behave before I really start trying to get that thing out of there. Is it supposed to just unscrew counter clockwise and come all the way out like a regular screw? Or am I missing something

Thank you in advance

-West

Town

Ottawa Ontario Canada
I have not worked on an LS, but the instructions imply a counter clockwise rotation of the engine bleed screw. If it had a reverse thread then that would be mentioned. The instructions say that coolant must come out from the engine bleed which implies the screw is removed. Sounds like the same instructions for the heater bleed except the engine must be idling for several minutes and coolant flowing from the heater bleed, and then close the heater bleed. The fill and bleed procedure for 3.0 liter V6 engines is reproduced below without reference to the V8 and re-numbered accordingly:

On 3.0L engines
1. Open the engine air bleed.

2. Open the heater air bleed.

3. Add coolant to the degas bottle allowing the system to equalize until no more coolant can be added.

4. Close the engine air bleed when coolant begins to escape.

5. Replace the degas bottle cap.

CAUTION: Care must be taken to ensure the accessory drive belt does not become contaminated with engine coolant.

6. Note: The heater air bleed remains open and start the engine and turn the heater to MAX position.

7. Close the heater air bleed when a steady stream of coolant comes from it, during engine idle.