Newbie here with a 1949 Cosmopolitan

Welcome to the busiest full-spectrum Lincoln community online!

Please join us! We'd really love to have you as a member...

rmcphearson

Greetings all,

Earlier this year I bought a 2003 Town Car with 75k (in lieu of a minivan) because it has enough room in the back seat for a rear facing child seat. My wife and I have fallen in love with this town car! Knowing my wife's driving record, I initially anticipated a series of unfortunate events involving the exterior of this car. Which got me thinking, if this thing gets banged up beyond economical repair, what would I do with this flawless drivetrain with 75k miles on it? So, I started looking around at some classic Lincoln rollers that need a drivetrain and...low and behold, guess what I found a few miles from here?! A solid 1949 Cosmo 4 door (suicide doors) with no engine for a song. The guy is practically giving this thing away because no one else wants it. The body and frame are in good condition, but it is pretty much a basket case. No engine or transmission. Surprisingly, the dash with all the "jewelry" is intact and in good condition. That was the most attractive part about the deal to me! I mean have you seen the 49 dash?! Here's the thing...

1) I hate the looks of the hardtop 4 door cosmopolitans. I see pictures of red ones, black ones, yellow ones and I want to barf. I have no interest in them.
2) Some of the convertibles such as this one below, are stunningly beautiful.
1606870876074.png

CuttingToolGuy

Houston
Did you buy it?

My experience with older autos is that the accessories & trim are the hardest to find. Make sure every knob or piece of chrome is attached.

It is a nice looking car.

rmcphearson

Hello Cutting ToolGuy,