2009 TC Air Suspension Intermittent Fault

TC_Owner_GA

Hi all!

Recent new owner of a 2009 Signature Limited with just over 88K on the odometer. Yesterday, while heading home I noticed the Air suspension fault was displayed in the LCD readout with a small orange light below it in the instrument cluster. I promptly reset the fault and continued home without any reoccurrences. Today I drove the car to town and the fault/light returned as I was heading home. I cleared the fault once again and continued to drive for another 40 miles as I decided to visit a friend on the way home. No fault or warning returned in all that distance. The car appears to be at correct ride height and still rides like a dream.

I'm fairly mechanically inclined and have performed most of my own maintenance on all of my past vehicles, but I'm new to the TC experience and wanted to ask if this could be a sign of future or impending trouble?

I read through the air suspension thread at the top of this forum list, but didn't see any posts related to my issue(s).

Question(s):

1. what exactly does the air suspension system do in a TC? Does it just simply inflate some air bags to a predetermined height and maintain it? Or is it an active system which adjusts on the fly to maintain some degree of ride quality?

2. Are the front and rear suspensions linked by this air ride system, or are they separate systems?

I'm not afraid to read and learn, so any informative links on the air suspension system used in this car will be greatly appreciated!

The air suspension is only on the rear and is the same as a Crown Victoria, Grand Marquis or Town Car if so equipped with it. It consists of 2 air springs, 2 solenoids, a ride height sensor, air compressor and a control module that also interacts with the steering to provide stiffer feedback at highway speeds.