• Hint: Use a descriptive title for your new message
    If you're looking for help and want to draw people in who can assist you, use a descriptive subject title when posting your message. In other words, "1998 Town Car" isn't going to indicate to anybody that you need help. However, "Need help with my 1998 Town Car" will. Be as descriptive as you can. Please use common sense... This message can be closed by clicking the X in the top right corner.

1993 Lincoln Continental Executive Series Installed new hub assembly and now transmission problem

Spicoli

A little background on the 1993 Lincoln Continental. It is super low mileage 64,660. So I don't really want to get rid of it. I started driving it in 2018 when it had 53k on it. It had been sitting for a while and my grandfather was able to get it running last summer (2018). I have been driving it since September of 2018. Had the rear brakes done in July and the technician warned me to have the engine mounts checked. Did that recently and had a new P/S lines and pump put in plus all 3 mounts replaced. They warned me on inspection that there was some give in the wheels and that I may have to replace the control arms and wheel bearings. They don't do that work so it wasn't like they were taking me for a ride. My friend and I this past weekend ended up installing new sway bar links, control arms, hubs, and wheel bearings on the front end. So now for the problems:

1) I noticed the wheel studs didn't protrude very far through the rotor and wheel as I was putting the lug nuts on. The wheel studs don't protrude through the lug nuts.

2) I started the car and when I put it in gear the speedometer registers a speed, but the car doesn't move. There was a grinding sound and the car was shaking as well and when I put the car back in park I could hear it still in gear. There was that grinding sound like the gears were still moving.